Practical science – Life cycle of a plant

Posted on

Yes… Practical science for a Kindergartener..

I have thought for long to do something practical at home that he could learn from.. one of the ideas was growing a small plant from the seeds… But I benched the  idea for so long… and it happened so that last week ,when I taught Yuvan about the Plants and how a plant grows from a seed to seedling and then to a plant with the help of sunlight and water… ,Yuvan asked me  ” Shall we do it at home?” That was the moment and the benched idea of mine came back to existence…

And since he was not ready to wait until I would go and buy a pack of sand ( is the word right ?)… we went downstairs to bring back home some of it and he helped me to collect some and he was so excited..

And then here is how it went.

1.I used 2 use and throw cups and fill half of it with the sand ( red) .. and used the Mustard seeds in one and the the bean seed in another… and watered… But forgot to take the day 1 pic….

2.And after 2 days he could see the seedling.. the ones which has not grown into a plant and then few remained at it and only two managed to branch out….

3.You could see both the seedling stage and the branched out ones in the same cup ( in which the bean seeds were sowed… ) The leaves looked awesome…

And here is how the mustard seeds grew into a small tiny plants…

4.And one day after it branched out he and as well me forgot to water it and the mustard seed plants were about to wilt.. and Yuvan was almost in tears and he watered immediately and after say about 5 hours it bounced back into life 🙂

And he insists me to bring the plant downstairs and keep in the sunlight and to my question of why he did tell me ” the sunlight is not enough here amma ” *** Faint**

And so the functions and parts of the plant and what  it needs to grow and how from a seed to a plant is etched in Yuvan’s mind… So the practical science  works..

Note:

I intend to continue posting more on the learning series which I will file under Learning – Science,Math,English ..whichever category it falls into.

Sorry for the poor quality of the pic.. as My digicam breathed its last and M waiting to buy a new one… and can’t be relying on Eash to use his professional gear always that too when I need to take the picture immediately.. so the pics will be from my mobile phone ,until I buy my new camera 🙂

4 thoughts on “Practical science – Life cycle of a plant

    Sathiya said:
    February 8, 2010 at 5:55 PM

    Good one…..it will be easy and interesting to learn for Yuvan!

    Angeline said:
    February 9, 2010 at 7:47 PM

    I think your photos are alright!!!
    And thank you for this post, you reminded me that I have yet to post something ‘green’ too! *wink*

    And yes, your plant is gorgeous!!! and yippee! The practical science did work!

    Suhanya responded:
    February 11, 2010 at 8:38 PM

    Thanks Angel for the reassurance on my pics 🙂

    yeah… m back in the groove:)

    Note Booking and Project#1 « SuheeZ BrainWaves said:
    March 20, 2010 at 4:38 PM

    […] And I straight away started with a Plant project ,which I had taught him early and grew a plant at home… […]

Leave a comment