2014.. A year in reflection … we laughed, we cried and we made it!

Posted on Updated on

I know it’s officially 2015 and in to the second month already….But it’s never too late to reflect I guess…A year that had been personally tough.. A year that I had to reassess my priorities.. A year where I promised myself a few things.. A year where I made a few but major changes to my outlook of life and a year when Yuvan also turned 9.. We had a little but contented birthday celebration…and Yuvan himself said he had loads of fun:-) (hoping to write this long pending post sooner…) we managed to learn and appreciate from each of the Indian festivities we observed through the year! (a post to follow)

When I was questioning myself about my teaching methods and whether I am doing right things for Yuvan, he surprised me completely out of the box by clearing the GEP screening test as one of the 19 in the whole school, which was completely unexpected.. It was a good exposure for him but a huge confidence booster for me which also prompted me to think in a bigger perspective what I would like Yuvan to know/learn/achieve in his life… A big eye opener thought steam engulfed me!!

Academically he managed to keep up with his performance though he dropped a few ranks over all in the school… But we have taken it as a learning curve …

He participated in the school national day project with his friends as a team and made a make believe F1 circuit and their team won the year levels best after the whole school voting process.. He surprised me by saying that they did promote their project in the cafeteria by going around with a simple hand made banner during the Recess time canvassing for votes – how creative marketing brains these boys have!! Kudos!!

And oh yeah, he manged to get into his favorite CCA  Floor ball through selection trails and was one of the selected few to train to get in to the school team…

As a family, we enjoyed a well deserved break in Tokyo (one post is not enough to say how Japanese changed my outlook  towards life for better – once again…) We also went home to Yuvan’s grandparents in India and I had a well deserved break with my uni friends and mom..

Over all, we laughed, we cried and we made it!

A year in which we had lots of ups and downs, lot of learning, lot of bonding and we survived!

I am grateful for what I had, though it was a tough year, yet we survived! Thank God for it…And very thankful to my mom who took leave from her bank job, and flew over to help us for more than two months on the domestic front to help me and Eash manage work and home. Her presence helped me personally soo much both emotionally and physically and soothed my soul.. Love you amma soo much! and grateful to my brother for putting up with my on-off sudden requests of mom to come to SG.

Leave a Reply

