Kids talk – A sibling!

Posted on

A very sensitive topic that Yuvan broaches with fun! Increasingly he is looking forward for a sibling.. Mind you I am not prego!

He tells me stories from school about friends who are single kids and some who has three brothers and how they can’t get along with their ‘sis’ etc

He has this habit of hugging me around my tummy every night before sleep.. Last night, (though he has done this many a times…yesterday’s was cute..) he hugged me as I laid down next to him, put his face and then ears on my tummy and pretended to talk!! He said, ‘Hello baby… You have to come very very quickly.. I will help mummy take care of you … You NEED to be a Boy and must love cricket!’ Aahhaaa…

I know he doesn’t like girls except his two friends E n R who are tomboyish n play all sorts of stuff with him.. But this talk of wanting a male sibling has been alarming for a while… I have done my best to tell him all good things about girls and how girls can also be sporty and watch sports as well *like mummy* as I grew up watching all sorts of sports (though I don’t play any – and that’s in his criteria now) and they can be equal play partners..

I also told him, ‘if we ever are going to be blessed with a baby again, it’s God’s gift and so pray that we need a healthy baby may it be girl or boy; so u can’t be partial Yuvan..pleaseeee’

After all this, guess what’s his response ??? Typical boys stuff!! It was just ‘Ok’

My mind voice – *what????? One word ??? after my 15 mins speech????*

Leave a Reply

